Quantcast

Health Literacy and 3D virtual worlds - (an interview in SL today)

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|  
Report Content as Inappropriate

Health Literacy and 3D virtual worlds - (an interview in SL today)

Shailey Minocha
The importance of people and place in 3D social VWs to health literacy, health behaviour and well-being

Kali Pizzaro (SL), Dr Evelyn McElhinney 

The VIRTUAL WORLDS EDUCATION ROUNDTABLE meeting at 11:30am SLT (2:30pm ET / 7:30pm UK time ) today in Glasgow Caledonian University in Second Life
http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Glasgow%20Caledonian/193/197/23

Evelyn is a Nurse Lecturer in the Nursing and Community Health Department of Glasgow Caledonian's School of Health and Life Sciences. Evelyn completed her PhD - "Living in 3D Social Virtual Worlds and the Influence on Health Literacy, Health Behaviour and Wellbeing" in December 2015. 

In her PhD she argued for a social model of Health Literacy which included the multiple social skills and cultural competencies she found used by adults in a 3D social virtual world. These multi-literacies were similar to those found to be used by children and adolescents in the social web, avatar-based VWs and games. 

In her second study she found the positive health assets accessed by people in 3D social virtual worlds positively influenced peoples ability to live and cope with their long term health conditions in the physical world. In this presentation she will discuss the findings from these studies and answer questions from our interviewer Professor Shailey Minocha and the audience. 


_______________________________________________
Educators mailing list
To unsubscribe
https://lists.secondlife.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/educators
Loading...